today Texas A&M in the SEC final!

6 Min Read

The University of Georgia women’s tennis team eliminated Tennessee 4-2 Saturday night at the Billingsley Tennis Center in the 2023 Southeastern Conference Tournament. With the win, the Bulldogs advance to the SEC Tournament Finals for the third straight season.

Georgia will face Texas A&M in the 2023 SEC Tournament Finals. First serve is scheduled for 2:00 PM. E.T. The match will be broadcast on the SEC Network. This marks the 23rd trip to the SEC Tournament Finals in program history.

Eight of which the Bulldogs were crowned champions. This also marks the third straight season that the Bulldogs will face the Aggies in the Finals. Georgia outscored Texas A&M 4-0 in 2021, however, the Aggies beat the Bulldogs in last year’s Finals 4-0.

In singles, the Bulldogs won four games. But, ranked third, she dominated the high court, defeating No. 26 Elza Tomase 6-3, 6-2 to give Georgia their first win of the day. The Cold Lady struck back with a six-court win as runner-up Guillermina Grant fell in straight sets.

The Bulldogs tied the game at two even after Kowalski outlasted Lauren Anzalotta 7-6 (2), 6-2. No. 6 Vidmanova gave Georgia their first lead in the overall game, earning a 6-4, 7-5 victory over No. 27 Rebeka Mertena. Freshman No.

71 Anastasiia Lopata clinched the game for the Bulldogs. After splitting the first two sets with Eleonora Molinaro, Lopata overcame a 5-1 run in the third set to win 6-3, 3-6, 7-6(8) and send Georgia to the final. In doubles, Georgia was swept by Tennessee.

The second tandem of Dasha Vidmanova and Mell Reasco fell to Nos. 40 Esther Adeshina and Rebeka Mertena 6-4 on court one, while Meg Kowalski and Lea Ma fell to Daria Kuczer and Eleonora Molinaro on court three.

Men’s Singles


#3 Lea Ma (UGA) def. #26 Elza Tomase (TENN) 6-3, 6-2
2. #6 Dasha Vidmanova (UGA) def. #27 Rebeka Mertena (TENN) 6-4, 7-5
3. #66 Mell Reasco (UGA) vs. #46 Daria Kuczer (TENN) 1-6, 6-4, 5-5, unfinished
4. #71 Anastasiia Lopata (UGA) def.

Eleonora Molinaro (TENN) 6-3, 3-6, 7-6 (10-8)
5. Meg Kowalski (UGA) def. Lauren Anzalotta (TENN) 7-6 (7-2), 6-2
6. Esther Adeshina (TENN) def. Guillermina Grant (UGA) 7-6 (7-2), 6-2

Men’s Doubles

1. #40 Esther Adeshina/Rebeka Mertena (TENN) def.

Dasha Vidmanova/Mell Reasco (UGA) 6-4
2. #35 Guillermina Grant/Mai Nirundorn (UGA) vs. Catherine Aulia/Lauren Anzalotta (TENN) 4-5, unfinished
3. Daria Kuczer/Eleonora Molinaro (TENN) def. Meg Kowalski/Lea Ma (UGA) 6-3

About the University of Georgia

The University of Georgia is a public university located in Athens, Georgia, United States.

Founded in 1785, it is the oldest and largest institution of major education in the state. The University of Georgia is part of the University System of Georgia. It is also a member of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.

It is classified as a Research University/Very High Activity. On January 27, 1785, the Georgia General Assembly issued a document signed by Abraham Baldwin for the University of Georgia to be the first state university. Sixteen years later, in 1801, a committee of the university’s board of trustees selected a site on a hill below Cedar Shoals for the university to stand on.

On July 25, John Milledge, one of the trustees and later governor of Georgia, bought 1,000 square miles of land from Daniel Easley and donated it to the university. During the American Civil War, the university closed in October 1863 and reopened in January 1866.

In the summer of 1903, after a century of exclusively white male education, UGA opened to female education, but the girls were admitted to undergraduate courses only in 1918. In 1961, UGA was involved in part of the civil rights movement when Charlayne Hunter and Hamilton Holmes became the first two African American students to enter the University of Georgia.

The University of Georgia offers 140 graduate programs in a variety of disciplines. Featuring 13 libraries scattered across campuses, they contain 4.7 million volumes and one of the largest collections of maps in the American nation.

UGA Libraries is a member of the Association of Research Libraries. The University of Georgia is organized into 18 schools and colleges and consists of 3 main campuses: the largest one is located in Athens while the other two are in Tifton and Griffin.

The University’s sports teams are called the Georgia Bulldogs. A member of the Southeastern Conference, the Bulldogs have won 37 national championships and 130 conference titles. The Georgia Redcoat Marching Band is the official marching band of the University of Georgia.

Photo Credits: University of Georgia webiste

Source link

Find Us on Socials

Share this Article
Leave a comment